Kindiki Appoints New County Commissioners, Fires And Transfers Others

by Business Watch Team

Interior Cabinet Secretary Professor Kithure Kindiki has made various changes in the counties by transferring, promoting, and dismissing some County Commissioners.

Four County Commissioners have been discharged from their duties and recalled to the Headquarters for reassignment.

Here are the County Commissioners who have been recalled:

County Commissioners

Herman Shambi (Nandi), Mathias Rioba (Trans-Nzoia), Michale Ivuto (Kirinyaga), and Stephen Kihara (Embu) have been recalled to the headquarters.

County Commissioners of Garissa, Isio, Meru, Makueni, Turkana, West Pokot, Samburu, Elgeyo Marakwet, Laikipia, Kajiado, Kakamega, Siaya, Kisii, Using Gishu, and Bomet counties will remain at their current stations and positions.

At the same time, some Deputy County Commissioners got lucky. They have been promoted to serve as County Commissioners in the new announcement.

County Commissioners

Jack Obuo has been promoted to head Kiambu County, Gerishon Mathioya deployed to Kisumu County and Patrick Mukuria is heading to Murang’a County.

Pius Murugu is going to Nyeri while Wesley Koech is heading to Tharaka Nithi. David Kariuki will be in charge of Narok while Josephat Biwott will head to Kilifi.

A good number of other County Commissioners have been transferred to head other counties in the same capacity.

County Commissioners

The new changes come at a time the Kenya Kwanza Government is trying to find a footing by dislodging the management that had been put in place by former President Uhuru Kenyatta.

County Commissioners are crucial in ensuring the success of the national government at the county level. They have direct links to the President and are supposed to brief him, sometimes through the Ministry of Interior on what is happening at the county level.

They are also in charge of security and in ensuring that the policies of the national government are adhered to at the county level. This is why sometimes they appear more powerful than even the Cabinet Secretaries or County Governors.

Related Posts

Copyright © 2023 – All Rights Reserved | Business Watch